Your WhatsApp photos - not as private as you think?
Recently, there was a host of problems with WhatsApp Plus, an unaffiliated app to the popular messaging service. Now, there's issues with the real deal, as security tinkerers have found that anyone can see a WhatsApp users' profile photos, no matter if they've locked their accounts down.
WhatApp launched a web version of their app, syncing the two up, but sadly, there seems to be security flaws which means that, even if you've messed with your settings, so that only your friends can see your photos, a bug allows people to get 'round that, and check out your images.
Even if the photos have been deleted, the flaw allows anyone to see those photos too. They might be blurred out on your phone, but online, they're crystal clear. Not much use if you think you've been sending sensitive images to people in presumed safety.
"Sure, it’s not the most serious privacy breach that has ever occurred, but that’s missing the point,” says security expert Graham Cluley in a post about the WhatsApp weakness. "The fact of the matter is that WhatsApp users chose to keep their profile photos private, and their expectation is that WhatsApp will honour their choices and only allow their photos to be viewable by those who the user has approved."
There's even a video you can watch, detailing this weakness, which you can watch below.
WhatsApp will invariably be patching this up in the coming weeks, but until you hear something official, it'd be a good idea to only sent images you don't mind the world seeing through the service.