Google+ will stop forcing you to do things

22 September 2014

google-plus-logo Good news Googlers - you no longer have to have a Google+ account tied in with your activities.

Google are said to have quietly snuffed out the service, which demands you tell it everything during the sign-up process, and then chains itself to your radiator* (*every move on the internet).

Now when you create a new Google account, there's the option of signing up for a G+ account. And now, you can instead use the new "No thanks" button, and they'll be on their way.

It doesn't mean the end of the network, oh no, it's suggested that they will continue to perservere with it, and improving aspects such as Google Hangouts.

But it sort of gives the idea that Google may not be arsed at foisting it on people willy nilly, and accept that it will never be the level that Twitter and Facebook enjoy.

However you can carry on ignoring it as usual, but it may hamper you leaving app reviews and uploading videos to YouTube and that.

A Google spokesperson said: "We updated the signup experience in early September. Users can now create a public profile during signup, or later, if and when they share public content for the first time (like a restaurant review, YouTube video or Google+ post)."

TOPICS:   Technology   Social Media   Privacy

What do you think?

Connect with Facebook, Twitter, or just enter your email to sign in and comment.

Your comment