One of the big problems Twitter has, is people talking about really boring stuff. Another problem it has, is people thinking that their cat photos are at all interesting.
Another thing is that Twitter seems to have a bit of a problem when it comes to abuse.
Thanks to the fast-paced nature of the social network, and the sure-footedness that comes with being an anonymous keyboard warrior, people can set up sock-puppet accounts in no time, and start sending all types of threats, mainly to women and people they don't agree with politically.
With that, Twitter has been chided for failing to tackle this problem. And so, they're beefing up the blocking function.
Of course, you've been able to block people on the service for a while now, but Twitter have shut down a loophole, so you don't have to ever hear from, or see any of the people you've blocked, ever again.
Unless they set up another account and have a pop at you through that.
Until this week, if you'd blocked someone, they could still appear on your timeline if someone you know retweeted them. That won't happen anymore.
"We're making Block easier to help you control your Twitter experience," Twitter tweeted.
"Starting today, we're making Block easier to help you control your Twitter experience."
They then linked to a page, detailing everything that is going on. You can see that here.
If you can't be bothered clicking a link, then to block someone, tap the three dots underneath a tweet from the person who is irritating you, and you'll get a pop-up, which will allow you to either mute, block, or report the person.
If you block them, the person in question won't be able to follow you, send you direct messages, and their tweets will vanish from your feed, and any mention of them won't show up in your eye-line.
Will this stop cyberbullying, trolling, and people being fantastically grating? We'll have to wait and see.
In the meantime, you will be able to retweet yourself, just to goad your haterz even further.
TOPICS: Social Media