Another week, and another Facebook hoax doing the rounds. This time, there's been a lot of chatter about Facebook charging £5.99 as a subscription to keep your profile private. Of course, everyone knows that the social network couldn't give a monkeys about privacy.
The post that was going around Facebook said: "Now it's official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: £5.99 to keep the subscription of your status to be set to "private". If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (I said paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste."
Even though it is obviously complete tosh, that hasn't stopped loads of people cutting and pasting the message onto their timelines.
We know this because, with minimal snooping, this hoax has been around since 2013. And of course, the notion that you'll be protected from something by simply cutting and pasting some text is preposterous - since when did the internet work like that? And of course, Facebook would be in a world of trouble if they lifted the privacy protections just like that. More importantly, the social network wouldn't want to alienate all those customers they have.
So how do you keep your page (relatively) private?
Well, first thing you do is to hit the little triangle in the top right of your Facebook page. There, you'll see your Settings. If you're on your phone, hit the three horizontal lines in the top right to get at your settings.
Once you're in Account Settings, hit the 'Privacy Settings' tab. When you're in there, you'll be able to toggle all manner of things, the main one being 'Who can see your future posts?' You'll want to hit 'Friends' if you only want people you know looking at your account. If you're after more privacy, hit 'Limit the audience for posts you've shared with friends of friends' or 'Public', and click 'Limit Past posts'.
If you want to check what your account looks like, use a pal's Facebook account to see what they can see. You can also click on the three dots below your Cover photo, and click 'View as', which will show you how much or how little the public can see.