Facebook will erase your ex

20 November 2015

Bitterwallet - Facebook logo Facebook don't trust you to be able to sort out your own life online. The keep tinkering with how they do things, are creating artificial intelligence to watch over you, telling you what you can and can't be called on the site, mithering you about absolutely everything, and tweaking the algorithms so hard, that you don't actually see a true reflection of what's being posted on your feed, in favour of a version of updates they'd prefer you to see.

And now, they want to get involved in your break-ups with people.

While most people could simply unfollow or mute someone they've just broken up with, Facebook don't think you're capable of doing that, so they're developing a tool which will limit exposure to your ex as soon as you change your relationship status from "in a relationship" to "single".

Photos, posts, mentions, and all that, will be suppressed so you don't cry all over your phone when you log on to the social network.

It looks like it'll be rolled out next year, after the testing has been completed.

"Facebook is a place for sharing life's important moments, which for many people include their romantic relationships," said Facebook product manager Kelly Winters in a statement. "When a relationship ends, we've heard from people that they sometimes have questions about the options available to them on Facebook."

Next week: Facebook introduces function that'll wipe your arse for you.

TOPICS:   Social Media

What do you think?

Connect with Facebook, Twitter, or just enter your email to sign in and comment.

Your comment