Ignore “posts can become public tomorrow” Facebook nonsense

Ignore “posts can become public"
28 June 2016

Every so often, something goes around Facebook that gets everyone concerned about the privacy of their account.

Of course, the simple act of having a Facebook account means that your details, messages, and everything else, isn't exactly private, but that's not what we're talking about here.

You'll see messages saying that your Facebook posts (among other things, including deleted ones) will become public "tomorrow". The posts will say that you have to copy and paste some legal sounding nonsense on your feed, and that Channel 13 News have confirmed the whole thing.

'Better to be safe than sorry' right?

Well, no. This is a hoax that has been doing the rounds for years and you can absolutely ignore it.

This updated version of the 2012 hoax says this:

"All your posts can become public tomorrow . Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste Better safe than sorry is right. Channel 13 News was just talking about this change in Facebook's privacy policy. Better safe than sorry. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You must copy n paste"

Basically, it's nonsense.

Facebook aren't planning any such thing and, even if they were, cutting and pasting that garbage from above wouldn't make a blind bit of difference anyway.

Facebook's terms of service is what matters, not some post on your timeline.

Most Facebook users will know this, but for those that don't, save yourself the worry and try sharing something fun in the place of this hoax.

TOPICS:   Privacy   Social Media

1 comment

  • bacefook

    I sidestep all book of faces nonsense by not having an account. Releases a good hour a day to do something far more productive, like sleep.

What do you think?

Connect with Facebook, Twitter, or just enter your email to sign in and comment.

Your comment