Twitter reverse update after troll complaints
This week, Twitter decided to rejig and rehash their app, making direct messaging the centre of its ideals, in a bid to steal some thunder from the hugely successful WhatsApp. We spoke about WhatsApp's huge sway online, and Twitter clearly noticed its growth too (as have Instagram who launched their own private messaging service).
With the update, Twitter also tweaked the 'block' feature. Alas, the change meant that a blocked user could still view or tweet at the person who blocked them, but the activity could not be seen by the victim.
Users immediately voiced their concerns, saying that this looked like the kind of thing that would actively encourage keyboard warriors and trolls to misbehave.
Realising their boob, Twitter have now reversed the changes.
"We have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users – we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe," explained Twitter vice president Michael Sippey. "In reverting this change to the block function, users will once again be able to tell that they've been blocked."
"We believe this is not ideal, largely due to the retaliation against blocking users by blocked users (and sometimes their friends) that often occurs."
This is all furthered from the criticism Twitter got in summer after journalist Caroline Criado-Perez was subjected to a slurry of rape and death threats. Twitter, it seems, is slowly getting a handle on how to strengthen their service and allow users to feel safer online.