WhatsApp to share your number with Facebook
WhatsApp have tinkered with their terms and conditions, which means they'll now be sharing your number with Facebook.
Of course, the messaging app is owned by Facebook, so this isn't exactly surprising.
WhatsApp would like you to know that this doesn't mean your messages aren't encrypted anymore - they assure us that everything will still be private, so the only person reading them should be the recipient.
You will notice some changes though - it is likely that you'll be seeing more people who you know from the People You May Know section from Facebook. So if you're avoiding people, it might be a bit of a pain.
A statement from WhatsApp: "We plan to share some information with Facebook and the Facebook family of companies that will allow us to coordinate more, such as to fight spam and abuse, and improve experiences across our services and those of Facebook and the Facebook family."
"Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of the Facebook family of apps for others to see."
"This means, for example, although some information will be shared with Facebook (such as your phone number), that information will not be seen by other people on Facebook."
"In addition, when you and your contacts use the latest version of our app, your messages are end-to-end encrypted by default. When your messages are end-to-end encrypted, only the people you are messaging with can read them – not WhatsApp, Facebook, or anyone else."
There's going to be adverts though, and this is going to irritate a lot of users.
Facebook clearly want WhatsApp to start generating some serious money, and will be letting some companies send messages to you. WhatsApp say: "Messages you may receive containing marketing could include an offer for something that might interest you."
WhatsApp has always felt independent of Facebook, and have taken it on in droves because of the lack of marketing, so you could well see a spike in downloads for other messaging apps that don't utilise such things.
You can opt out of sharing data:
- You'll be asked to accept the new terms and conditions by WhatsApp - hit the 'read' button to expand the text
- However, WhatsApp say that Facebook will still receive some data.
- Or, if you prefer, delete your Facebook account and be done with it.