Posts Tagged ‘complaint’

People get drunk sometimes, and it gets confusing as to whether the bad time they’ve had at a venue was the real deal, or self-imposed and muddled by booze.

That doesn’t stop people getting their critic’s cap on, and leaving a review, most likely on TripAdvisor.

Well, the people at North Shields bar, How Do You Do?, found they’d been given a one-star review by a customer who said they’d had a terrible time at a wedding there. The bosses replied, saying that what had been written was a “a drunk person’s view of the situation.

First, the  complaint.

HDYD1 490x500 Manager gives sober account of drunken bad pub review

As you can see, there’s complaints of the meagre food on offer, and bizarrely, complaining about a pub that does lock-ins (pubs that do a lock-in should be cherished, whether they’ve invited you in or not).

There was also complaints of people being kicked-out, and ‘random strangers’ being allowed in.

With these complaints, HDYD’s Paul Bell felt he needed to address the complaint, which of course, has now been deleted. Bell points out why, if you’re going to get hysterical with a review, the management and staff will invariably have far more incriminating tales of their own to share with everyone.

Here’s the reply.

HDYD2 Manager gives sober account of drunken bad pub review

 

HDYD3 Manager gives sober account of drunken bad pub review

 

HDYD4 Manager gives sober account of drunken bad pub review

 

That’s a lot of words, and quite the take-down… no wonder the original complaint was deleted in haste!

Cafe complaint met with logic

January 15th, 2016 3 Comments By Mof Gimmers

We all know that things in cafes and restaurants costs more than they would if you made them at home. There’s overheads and staff to pay, and of course, some places are really expensive for reasons that may not be clear to us, so we reserve our right to not go there.

However, some folk don’t get it, and in a TripAdvisor review, ‘Hannah C’ wasn’t impressed with Bennett’s Cafe and Bistro in High Petergate, York.

Hannah was on a ‘tight budget’, and ordered herself a hot water with a ‘thin slice of lemon’ in it. She was charged £2 for the privilege, which she thinks is ‘ridiculous’, and referred to the cafe as a ‘dreadful place’.

tripadvisor complaint 500x375 Cafe complaint met with logic

Of course, Hannah is quite within her rights to think of somewhere as crappy, and overpriced, but the manager from the establishment replied to her, which should get her thinking.

The manager’s full response talks of the cruel realities of life, and tries to address why things cost what they do.

“I’m sorry that you feel that you were ‘ripped off’ and I’ll try to explain why you weren’t. You entered the cafe and the waiter showed you to your seat, gave you a menu, waited for a time and then took your order. He entered it into the till, collected a cup, saucer and spoon and took them into the kitchen. There, he selected a knife, chopping board, got a lemon from the fridge, cut off a slice and put it in the cup. Then, he returned to the dining room, drew off the necessary hot water and carried the cup to your table.”

“When you were leaving, he printed off your bill, took it to you, processed your credit card payment and cashed off the till. After you left, he cleared away your cup, saucer and spoon, took them into the kitchen, washed and dried them, along with the chopping board and knife and put away the lemon.”

“Then, returning to the dining room he restacked the cup, saucer and spoon, wiped down your table and replaced the menu, awaiting the next customer. That’s at least 2-3 minutes work for the waiter.”

“The cost of overheads for the business, i.e rent, business rates, electricity costs, bank charges, etc works out at £27.50 per hour of trading. I pay my colleagues a decent living wage and after taking into account holiday pay, national insurance and non-productive time prior to opening and after closing, the waiter who served you costs me £12.50 per hour.”

“Therefore, together the cost is £40 per hour or 67p per minute, meaning that the cost of providing you with 2-3 minutes of service was £1.34 – £2.00. Then the government add on VAT at 20% which takes the cost of that cup of fruit infusion to between £1.60 and £2.40 irrespective of whether you had a teabag costing one and a half pence or a slice of lemon costing five pence.”

“I have to pay my suppliers otherwise the facilities won’t be available to other people who use them in the future. I accept that it makes the price of a cuppa in a city centre cafe look expensive compared to the one you make at home but unfortunately that’s the cruel reality of life.”

“It’s actually the facilities that cost the money, far more so than the ingredients. Perhaps, the rudeness that you perceived in me was triggered by the disrespect that I perceived in you by your presumption that you could use our facilities and be waited on for free.”

Australians shouting at Nurofen packaging

December 14th, 2015 No Comments By Mof Gimmers

nurofen 300x284 Australians shouting at Nurofen packagingThe producers of Nurofen’s “specific pain” range of tablets has had to defend their products, after a court in Australia wanted them removed from shops for ‘misleading consumers’.

The makers of the drugs, UK based Reckitt Benckiser, make a host of drugs which say they treat specific pains, like migraines and the like. However, the court says that they’re all identical to each other, so they need to stop pretending otherwise. Whether this will have a knock-on over here, remains to be seen.

So what have Nurofen got to say for themselves? Well, these products were ”designed to help the consumer easily navigate our range”. Not because they’re necessarily different, but rather, because they’re easy to read.

“Consumer research indicates that 9 in 10 people (88%) look for pain relief for a specific type of pain (eg headache, migraine, back pain) and 7 in 10 (71%) say pain-specific packs help them decide which product is best for their needs,” said Dr Aomesh Bhatt, regulatory and medical affairs director for Nurofen.

Either way, this court order will affect products on sale in Australia, which include Nurofen Back Pain, Nurofen Period Pain, Nurofen Migraine Pain and Nurofen Tension Headache.

This all came about after the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) brought the matter to everyone’s attention. The ACCC said the court had found the firm had “engaged in misleading conduct in contravention of the Australian consumer law by representing that its Nurofen Specific Pain products were each formulated to treat a specific type of pain, when the products are identical”.

The watchdog added that these products were found to be “no more effective at treating the type of pain described on its packaging than any of the other Nurofen specific pain products”. Oh, and they’re sold for almost double the price of standard Nurofen.

Now, for the time being, this won’t apply to the UK market, but now this has all come to light, you can guarantee that there’s going to be an investigation into all this, so we’ll keep tabs on it. In the meantime, stop ripping yourself off by buying things that are more expensive, for no good reason.

Woman gets dirty message from Tesco driver

December 11th, 2015 3 Comments By Mof Gimmers

Some people don’t know how to chat someone up. It is always best to adopt a softly-softly approach initially, to work out what kind of person you’re dealing with.

And so, to the delivery driver from Tesco who showed off an approach to a customer that had all the delicacy of Nicholas Cage. And amazingly unprofessional too.

The lady in question posted the messages she received to Facebook, which she says she received after a food delivery.

tesco message 500x272 Woman gets dirty message from Tesco driver

The messages read: “Hie? I delivered shopping to you this evening my name is Joe. I think your sexy I want u to suck my c*** while I lick your p****.”

Now, again, there’s ways of making an approach to someone, even while you’re doing a delivery for them. Probably isn’t a good idea to get her phone number from the company database, text her, and then include some graphic language in the second message you send. If you’re playing the dating game, this doesn’t work for a number of reasons – the first being that, generally, women don’t like it when people do this and some even feel a bit frightened by it.

Tesco have apologised about all this, and noted that the driver is not a Tesco employee, rather, it was an agency driver.

A Tesco spokesperson told Metro: “This behaviour is completely unacceptable. We took immediate action to ensure this agency driver will never work for Tesco again and are in contact with the customer. We are extremely sorry for any upset caused.”

Morrisons petrol pump charges for thin air

December 8th, 2015 6 Comments By Mof Gimmers

We’re all under the assumption that supermarkets are sly and always up to something, so when one fella went to get some petrol from Morrisons, he decided to see what was going on with the nozzle.

Darryn Loose posted a video online, which shows him holding the pump without pressing the trigger, and clear as day, the amount to pay increased all by itself.

He was at the Morrisons in Chatham, Kent, with the cost increasing without any petrol coming out. You can bet that other people will be checking to see this happens across the country this week.

Loose said: “My worry is that how do I know that I actually got the £20 I put in in the first place?” He told the staff about it, showing them the video, but he was told they wouldn’t be checking the pumps.

He said: “I have been in arguing for a while. They weren’t even going to check the other pumps, they didn’t see the point! They have no idea. Said it was a one off incident, but they have no idea if it has been doing to everybody or not.”

A spokesperson for Morrisons said, once they’d seen the video, that they’ll be investigating the whole thing: ”An investigation showed there was a fault with the pump, and it has now been sorted out. We are making contact with the customer who filmed the video.”

Keep an eye on this, and make sure you’re not paying a massive company for thin air.

Nationwide IT meltdown

June 15th, 2015 4 Comments By Mof Gimmers

Nationwide 300x187 Nationwide IT meltdownCustomers of Nationwide have been having a nightmare trying to use their mobile banking, after the building society suffered a breakdown on their IT services this morning, with millions unable to do what they need to do with their accounts.

On their website, a statement says: “We’re sorry to have to tell you that your Online Bank is unavailable. We are making every effort to restore service as quickly as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience this will cause you.”

Of course, this has seen a lot of people venting spleen on the internet, saying all the usual stuff you’d expect in a scenario like this.

Some customers have said that they’ve not been able to access their account since Friday, which is pretty rotten. It does seem, however, that everything is fine if you want to withdraw money from a cash machine and things seem okay if you want to make a card payment in a shop.

What will irritate customers of the Nationwide, is that this has happened before, with a similar glitch occurring in 2013.

Anyway, if you have any pressing concerns, get to your local branch or get in touch with them on the phone or by email. Contacts are available here.

amazon logo 300x298 Amazon minimum spend for free delivery doubles to £20Once upon a time, Amazon’s Free Super Saver Delivery meant free. However, in 2013, they changed their mind on all that and introduced a £10 minimum spend for delivery.

That clearly isn’t making Amazon enough money, so now they’re raising the limit again, doubling it to £20.

It looks like they’re doing this as an incentive to move customers toward coughing-up the £79 for Amazon Prime, so you can get next-day deliveries and a host of streaming and media services. If you’re not interested in the latter, tough cheese.

Seems like Amazon need to start paying for all their various forms of delivery options. Those flying drones won’t pay for themselves now, will they?

So when does this new £20 minimum come into play? Well, they’re not messing about and the new threshold will kick-in at 6pm tonight (that’s UK time). So if you’ve got some cheapo items sat in your basket, you should hurry up and get them right now.

yodel UK parcel 300x224 Yodel not happy with retailers unrealistic delivery expectationsYodel’s boss – Dick Stead – is not happy with retailers who have been using them for deliveries. He wants to see them setting more realistic expectations for deliveries and that, if parcels are delivered late, then the retailer should take the blame, not the courier.

Of course, Royal Mail will be howling at this, as they’ve been complaining about companies muscling in on their turf, cherry picking the best delivery areas, when they don’t have a universal obligation.

Yodel themselves have been getting it in the neck, especially on Mother’s Day and Black Friday. Over Christmas, the company rejected the idea that late deliveries were their fault and had a big backlog after the crazy scenes on Black Friday.

Speaking to Retail Week, Dick Stead said: “You can’t ask parcel carriers to build up the capacity that’s only going to be used three times a year. Retailers haven’t quite grasped you can’t provide next day delivery at this rate, not this [Black Friday], next year or the year after.”

“We’re working really hard with retailers at the moment to say ‘come on guys, there’s a certain limit of capacity next day delivery’. Reserve it for people who really need it the next day, and for everyone else for goodness sake you’ve had the bargain of a lifetime, but it might take 3-5 days to deliver.”

“The difficulty is the people working in their supply chains understand it, but their marketeers don’t,” he added.

Amazon Prime ‘free trial’ advert, banned

March 4th, 2015 2 Comments By Mof Gimmers

amazoninstant Amazon Prime free trial advert, bannedThere was a fair bit of hubbub surrounding Amazon’s Prime and how it changed from a free trial to a paid-for service.

The Advertising Standards Authority have banned one of Amazon’s adverts, which was a direct mailing advert, which offered a “free trial” of the Prime delivery service, saying that it misled consumers on the now infamous subscription fees.

So what’s the beef?

Well, the ASA’s ruling came about after their were complaints about a card that crowed about a “30-day free trial”, which wasn’t prominent or clear enough when pointing out that a paid subscription would kick-in automatically if the service wasn’t cancelled during the trial period.

In addition to that, the regulator noted that the ad for the instant video element of Prime also didn’t point out the cost of a subscription.

The letter itself said: “Dear [name], I’m sending you this letter because I want you to know that you are eligible for a free trial of Amazon Prime … Start your 30-day free trial today and watch as much as you want … That’s all there is to it …”

It did say; “Paid subscription starts automatically after free trial unless cancelled,” in the small print, and Amazon pointed out that the advert repeatedly said the “free” element was time-limited. The company also pointed out that in all occasions bar one, the word “free” was preceded by “30-day”.

The ASA weren’t having it and said: ”We did not consider that it was sufficient to include the information about the automatic paid subscription in the small print of the ad only and therefore did not consider that that information was sufficiently prominent to make clear the extent of the commitment consumers must make to take advantage of the offer.”

“We concluded the ad was likely to mislead.”

The Advertising Standards Authority concluded that this particular advert for Amazon Prime was misleading and it mustn’t appear again in its current form.

Costa coffee: now with added blood in your drink

February 17th, 2015 2 Comments By Mof Gimmers

costa coffee Costa coffee: now with added blood in your drinkIn what might be great news for vampires, others may not be so pleased to hear that a customer at Costa coffee got a load of blood in their brew.

That’s right – a customer by the name of Janine Hughes bought a latte and found that it tasted a bit weird and, on inspecting the hot beverage, found that it was mixed with some worker’s blood. It might be a simple accident, but we’ve convinced ourselves that this is some Illuminati business going down.

Hughes bought her bloody coffee from the drive-through in Swansea and, on finding some human innards in it, she went back to find out what was going on. She was told that her barista had cut his hand while doing her drink.

Now, the customer is awaiting blood test results to make sure she’s not caught anything from her contaminated drink.

And what did Costa do about all this? Well, they gave her a new brew for a start and then the area manager sent her a letter apologising about the whole incident. However, the apology letter was written in Comic Sans, which is like kicking someone repeatedly while they’re down, if you ask us.

costa blood apology1 500x357 Costa coffee: now with added blood in your drink

She’s made an official complaint to Costa HQ, but as yet, she’s not heard anything.

She said: “I drove off and took two sips of my latte and it tasted like iron. I realised something was wrong, but did not know what at the time. Then I saw blood on the inside of the lid and realised there was blood in the coffee. I was filled with horror when I realised what I had just drunk. I drove back and asked to see the manager.”

“The person who served me was mortified. But I should have been given a completely new coffee and not just a new lid. I was given a new latte in the end but I had to report it – it was too serious to ignore.”

Hughes has vowed to never again visit a Costa, after all this malarkey: “Not once have they contacted me. They have hidden behind the brand. That is terrible. I have had the worry of the blood tests. I don’t think I will ever go to Costa again. I will support my local coffee shops.”

A Costa Coffee spokesman said: “Our area manager has spoken to Ms Hughes and apologised for the distress this obviously caused her. This was an isolated incident and does not reflect our high standards of safety and hygiene.”

Feel free to make your own ‘grounds for complaint’ or something about ‘the daily grind’ here.

Should we all start invoicing buses for being late?

February 2nd, 2015 2 Comments By Mof Gimmers

Buses and trains are notorious for being late in the UK, with most people just accepting it as part of the service. However, all that might’ve changed as one lady made a note of all the late bus services and then invoiced for them successfully.

Elizabeth Thomas sent her invoice to First Buses, which totted up to £103.30 and they gave her a load of free passes.

late travel invoice Should we all start invoicing buses for being late?

She complained about a service in Bristol which had been consistently late, which she said, had been preventing her from spending time with her two children because her commute was taking longer than necessary.

“I’ve had to start leaving an hour earlier just to be sure I get to work on time, and by the time I get home I’m looking at a 12-hour day most days,” she said.

“That’s time I should be spending with my children. Is my time not valuable to First?”

Thomas looked at her Twitter and used the data she collated there, to document late buses (or indeed, buses that didn’t show up at all). She added up all the time she waited and put it into an invoice. She found that she’d wasted 11.24 hours waiting for First’s buses.

With that, she decided to charge First £9.19 per hour, which resulted in a cost of £103.30. Seeing as Elizabeth Thomas was successful, should we all start invoicing travel companies for late running services, to get some compensation or free stuff? Looks like a good idea to us.

**UPDATE**

First in Bristol got in touch to say this: “The success of this particular claim was due to the fact that there is a customer promise already in place in Bristol, which offers to pay out if a bus (in Bristol) is more than one minute early at a defined timing point, or more than 20 mins late at any boarding point, and the cause of the failure is within the company’s control. This is well publicized locally and means that there was, in fact, no need for an invoice to be submitted at all.”

All buses services across the country would do well to adopt this customer promise!

Creme Egg recipe changed – probably a Jihad plot

January 12th, 2015 6 Comments By Mof Gimmers

Cadbury Creme Eggs 300x300 Creme Egg recipe changed   probably a Jihad plotAs you may have found out, via those fantastically bright people at Fox News, Birmingham is a no-go area for people who aren’t Muslims. You didn’t hear about that? Click here to find out all about it. Just wait until Fox finds out that, nearby, they’ll find the Black Country.

Seeing as Cadbury is Birmingham, the news that the company have secretly changed the recipe of Creme Eggs, you can only assume that this is a secret terror plot to fell Britain via dissatisfied palates by horrible eggstremists.

So what’s going on? Well, the chocolate shell of a Creme Egg is now made with a standard cocoa mix rather than Dairy Milk. And you can tell. It is much sweeter than the old version, as if Creme Eggs weren’t sweet enough already.

A spokesdrone for the company said: “We tested the new one with consumers. It was found to be the best one for Creme Egg, which is why we’ve used it this year. The Creme Egg had never been called Cadbury’s Dairy Milk Creme Egg.”

“We have never played on the fact that Dairy Milk was used.”

Of course, Creme Eggs were actively good for you in the olden days, before the American company Kraft took over Cadbury’s. Kraft also stopped boxes of Creme Eggs containing 6 treats (you know, like a proper box of eggs) and reduced the contents to 5, while keeping the price the same. Naturally, chocolate fans are exggsasperated at the whole thing.

Shell-shocked. Albumental, etc. Now, we’re off for a Creme Egg omelette.

Bought Far Cry 4 for Xbox but can’t play it?

January 6th, 2015 No Comments By Mof Gimmers

xbox one square Bought Far Cry 4 for Xbox but cant play it?If you’ve downloaded Far Cry 4 for Xbox One and it isn’t working and you’re spending your time punching your joypad and screaming blue murder into the ether, you’re not alone.

What has happened is quite odd – even if you’ve paid for the game, it isn’t launching for a number of users thanks to the small matter of the game itself not being listed on the Xbox Marketplace. That’s right. The same place you bought it from.

If you check the Xbox Marketplace, you’ll find the game does show up in the searches, however, it is impossible to get at it.

Microsoft haven’t said what’s going on, but the developer - Ubisoft – have acknowledged the problem on a message board, saying “we are investigating”. Kotaku report that one customer bought the game on the day it came out, unlocked all the achievements, but can’t get back into the game thanks to an error message when trying to load it up.

At £49.99, that’s an issue not to be sniffed at. The advice here is that, if you’re thinking of buying the game, it would be wise to hold-off and let Xbox and Ubisoft sort the issues out. There’s no point forking out for a product if you can’t use it. If you’ve already bought it, but can’t gain access to the game, hang tight or complain about it all in our comments.

Did you hear the one about the restaurant who posted a picture of a non-paying family online, so everyone could mock them? You may have actually, because it happened over Christmas, but it is news to us.

In Cardiff, Burger & Lobster’s new place had a family who did a bunk without paying their bill. And so, to get their own back, the eaterie decided to shame them on their Facebook page.

burger lobster family 500x332 Restaurant shames customers who didnt pay their bill on Facebook

The post said: “To this family that walked out tonight without paying their bill, we are sure this was just a ‘mistake’ and you completely forgot, so out of the goodness of your heart please call the restaurant tomorrow to pay the bill. Thanks.”

While we think it is funny, it seems that a lot of the people who stumbled across it on Facebook weren’t. Soft gets. One disgruntled person dribbled: “People make mistakes like this all the time, especially if there is a few of them. I’ve had to go back and pay after leaving and realising. Not a very professional approach by this food chain if these customers have left in error! I don’t like the way in which you operate and puts me off ever coming into your establishment! Disgusting!”

And the hysterical shrieking wasn’t done there either. Another person left a comment saying; “Genuinely a disgrace posting this on a social media platform.”

Disgusting and disgraceful there, completely in-keeping the severity of what’s happened. Of course, a load of people thought it was funny as well, so that’s something.

Oh, and if you care at all, the family in question returned to the restaurant and paid their bill in full, which means the Facebook post worked. However, Burger & Lobster will probably go out of business now, thanks to the three people who howled in anguish at the company’s actions. A stern warning to us all.

HMRC blasted for helpline hopelessness

December 15th, 2014 No Comments By Ian Wade

TAX MONKEYS HMRC blasted for helpline hopelessness Which!!! have thrown shade on Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs (HMRC) helpline service.

The tax helpline has been criticised in a new report by the watchdog of consumers, saying that there had been little improvement in the service since they met up in July with the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), which served them a scathing review of their lengthy waiting times and shoddiness in answering phone calls, which were costing customers £136 million a year.

The service will be in heavy demand in the next two months, as thousands will be completing their self-assessment tax returns before January 31st.

HMRC’s chief executive Lin Homer, reckons that they had been improving the service in recent months.

However, Which!!!’s report details that 29% of calls made by their members, were cut off by an automated answering system carping on about the lines being busy.

Where there were 71 instances of callers not being cut off, they were then put on hold for an average of 18 minutes, with one caller being held hostage for 41 minutes. PAC chairwoman Margaret Hodge said: “Customers of Government services should be able to contact those services easily and cheaply.”

Hopeless.